The Beginning

We began, one day, toward your goal.
I asked where it was and you
laughed, shrugged, saying it didn’t matter.
Likely.
I don’t know how it
started, you were the person I knew I could follow,
trust,
and so I did. And so your soul flew,
right next to mine.
Truly.
We began, one day, toward my goal.
I didn’t see it happen, so I missed my exit.
Lost,
Laconic, and we both ended up, together, toward
you. I smiled, I spoke, while you listened. It didn’t seem to matter.
Obviously we decided to remain the
undeniable friends we’d become and
so we did. We matched the challenge perfectly.
Terribly.
And we began, one day, but I can’t remember when that was.
You smile, saying it doesn’t matter. I agree, only because you said so.
…it was too long ago that I had begun.

Leave a Reply

