How Nahum saves and/or truly rules the country

Sitting in her office chair, she could hear the rabble from outside the closed window. Imelda groaned. “What now?”

Nahum, her assistant, stood with his posture straight. “They’re rioting outside. I don’t think they’re feeling the whole dictatorship.”

“Why not? Aren’t I doing better than the idiots before?”

“I think they’re unhappy about how insensitive you are.”

She glared over at him, but Nahum continued to be unfazed. “I don’t care.”

“That would do it.”

“Take care of them!” she shouted at him. “I have other things to take care of. Important things. I think they’ll be more happy to actually have food to eat. They don’t have to like me.”

He didn’t agree, but Imelda wouldn’t listen, so he decided to obey. He needed to keep this job. It was safer being closer to Imelda than anyone out of her view. Nahum shrugged. “I’ll take care of it.”

He left her to focus on important matters of state and gave out some business cards out from for people to register their complaints.

Leave a Reply

